Mount Grace Priory

I’m way behind on posts for this blog so am trying to catch up…. Way back in the summer we stopped off at Mount Grace Priory (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/mount-grace-priory/) which, very suprisingly, we had not been to before. It is a National Trust property but “operated” by English Heritage: a bit odd, but I’m sure there’s a sensible reason for that. Either way, it now boasts a welcoming, cosy and appropriately constructed café and shop at the entrance, alongside well-conserved buildings, one of which has been reconstructed as the small house each (Carthusian) monk occupied, complete with scriptorium room and rather slendid small garden.

Carthusians spent most of their time in these cells, with most meals delivered to them through a sort of hatch by lay brothers, coming together only for principal services and meetings. At least one bishop “retired” to become a lay brother, so the servants were pretty classy! All in all, if I was on my own its the sort of life that I could well have felt called to … Brother Bruno, who came home with us to provide spiritual care for our collection of small bears, must have agreed, and I wonder if we will be able to keep from sneaking off back home.

2 thoughts on “Mount Grace Priory

  1. Lovely to see this. I visited the Priory on a school trip more than 50 years ago. All I really remember was how peaceful it was. Thank you for including it Sandra

Comments are closed.