The Sunday Sermon Seminar

Are you preaching on the lectionary readings next Sunday? I’m just looking at them now and thought we might get a bit of discussion going.

Elijah in the OT reading makes a robust challenge to the Israelites (he will later go on to speculate whether Baal is not answering prayer because he has wandered off to the loo…): 21Elijah then came near to all the people, and said, ‘How long will you go limping with two different opinions? 

So that’s my starting point, and the question is this: how do we differentiate between consistent faithfulness, which I presume we agree is a virtue, and extremism, which I presume we do not.

Cue a reference to the martyr Perpetua who featured in the last episode of Mary Beard’s series on Rome. A young mum, she refused to obey the new edict to sacrifice to the Emperor, and insisted on being thrown to the lions, causing shock and debate even then. Faithful sincerity or foolish stubbornness?

Well, I have the glimmerings of a way to start to answer my question, based on the other readings for the day. But what do you think?

