Inside the Religious Mind: Psychology, Prayer and Compassion

Science and Belief

7643230630_efe33e1f29_bConscious – May there be Light. By Hartwig HKD. Flickr. (CC BY-ND 2.0)

How can a psychologist study religion? Today’s podcast comes from the newest member of staff at the Faraday Institute, Joe Tennant, who is a psychologist. Here I ask him about his life and work, and what methods a psychologist can use to study belief in an invisible God (transcript below).

 

Can you first of all tell us a bit about yourself and how you came to be working in the Faraday Institute?

Joseph Tennant ID PictureI grew up in an army family, so I moved around a lot as a child. Eventually we settled in Kansas, I went to the University of Kansas, and then for the past six years I have been at the University of Chicago for graduate school. In the job hunt I was looking at the American Psychological Association’s lists for religion and psychology…

View original post 1,414 more words

