1 Corinthians 13 for teachers

Many thanks to our great Diocesan Director of Education, Jane Sheat, for everything – but especially for including in her latest newsletter this super paraphrase by the rather excellent Andy Wolfe of The Nottingham Emmanuel School, which will I suspect ring the bells of any teachers who read it:

If I tirelessly teach five outstanding lessons a day, and see my students make excellent progress against their targets, but have not love, I am only a broken window or a wall covered in graffiti.
If I create a perfect climate for learning, have excellent meetings with parents and resolve all the problems of the day through focused toil, but have not love, I am only an uneaten school dinner or a messy office.
If I give all I have to my school and work a 70 hour week, marking, planning, preparing and evaluating and have the most perfect colour-coded action plan to guide my path, but have not love, I gain nothing.
Love is patient. Love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.
(cited in A Flintham, Sustaining Hope in School Leadership, Grove Books Ltd, 2014 p25)

